Vision and Mission of the Department


To create globally competent professionals, researchers and entrepreneurs through outcome based curriculum and experimental learning who can resolve the emerging challenges of industry, academia and society.


  • To provide high quality education at the undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduate level.
  • To disseminate required attributes in the field of electrical engineering. And interdisciplinary areas related to it.
  • To inculcate lifelong learning ability, technical expertise, ethical standards, teamwork and leadership qualities,
  • To create excellence in scholarly research at the frontiers of electrical engineering.
  • To encourage faculty expertise and modern facilities to serve the industry, the profession, and other constituents in the state and the nation.
Programs Offered
S. No. Program Duration Seats Syllabus/Scheme
1 B. Tech. Electrical Engineering 4 years / 8 Semesters 60 Download
2 M. Tech. Electrical Engineering (Power System) 2 years / 4 Semesters 25 Download
3 Doctor of Philosophy 3-5 Years Download
Board of Studies (Electrical Engineering)

Board of Studies (2019-21)

Dr Y S Brar, Chairman
Dr. Jagdish Kumar
Dr. Yog Raj Sood
Dr. J S Dhillon
Dr. Gagandeep Kaur
Dr. Chakardhar Reddy
Dr. Kanwardeep singh

Dr. Rakesh Kumar
Dr. Navneet Singh Bhangu
Dr. Akhil Gupta
Dr. Ashwani Kumar
Dr. Dilbagh Singh
Dr. Paramjit Singh
Dr. Deepika Bhalla, Coordinator
Students & Alumni

BOS Meetings

Agenda (2019)
Research Areas

The Department conducts research in many areas like Power system optimization, Renewable energy, Distributed generation, Power quality and Condition monitoring of power equipments.

Under Graduation Laboratories:
General Electrical Lab, Semiconductor lab, Electrical Machine Lab, Electrical Measurement lab
Research Laboratories:
Power systems Research lab.
Projects undertaken by the department
S.No. Ongoing Projects Total Cost
Funding agency Principal Investigator Status
1 Harnessing of Biomass as a means of Sustainable Source of Energy 8.5 AICTE Delhi Dr. Yadwinder Singh Brar  Completed
2 Development of Prototype Biomass based Microbial Fuel Cell for Small Scale Power Applications 99.68 DST Dr. Gagandeep Kaur Submitted for approval

Dr. Deepika Bhalla received ISTE Section Best Teacher Award 2016 during the ISTE Section Convention.

Events (FDPs / Workshops / Seminars)
  • 7-day FDP organized by the Department on “Modelling & Simulation of Engineering Systems” (January 9 – 15, 2017).
Faculty Participation/Paper Presentation in Conferences
  • Dr. Deepika Bhalla attended a conference on NBA Awareness workshop on Outcome Based education and Accrediation by IKG PTU and NBA, New Delhi at NITTTR, Sector 26 Chandigarh (21st January, 2017).
  • Dr. Y.S. Brar attended a conference on Active and reactive power dispatch using predator prey optimization approach by IEEE 7th Indian international conference on  Power electronics(IICPE 2016) at Thapar University, Patiala, Punjab (November 17 – 19, 2016).
  • Dr. Gagandeep Kaur attended IEEE 7th International Conference on Intelligent Systems, Modelling & Simulation ISMS-January 2016 at Bangkok, Thialand and presented paper on A Novel Technique for Reduction of Harmonics in Multilevel Inverters: A survey.
Contact Us
Dr. Gagandeep Kaur
Head of Department
Mobile no.: +91-947-809-8118